

ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP 2024/25

The <u>Academic Council</u> is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor and comprises ex officio staff members; staff members appointed by the Vice-Chancellor; staff members appointed by the Vice-Chancellor following a competitive selection process; and the elected sabbatical officers of Greenwich Students' Union.

Ex-Officio (16)

- Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer (Chair): Professor Jane Harrington
- Deputy Vice-Chancellors (2):
- Professor Vanessa Lemm (DVC and Provost) and Professor Andrew Westby (DVC Research and Knowledge Exchange)
- Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellors and Executive Deans (4): Professor Leigh Doster (Business); Professor Peter Griffiths (Engineering and Science); Professor Derek Moore (Education, Health and Human Sciences); and Professor Natasha Vall (Liberal Arts and Sciences) (from 01.10.24 – Professor Vanessa Lemm until then).
- Chief Operating Officer: Mr Peter Taylor
- Director of the Natural Resources Institute: Professor Sheryl Hendriks
- University Secretary (Secretary): Mr Peter Garrod
- Executive Director of Marketing and External Relations: Ms Heidi King
- Director of Greenwich Research and Innovation: Professor Andy Frost
- Executive Director and Chief Information Officer: Mr Paul Butler
- Executive Director of Student and Academic Services: Ms Rachel Ashton
- Chair of the University Research Ethics Committee: Dr Sofia Stathi
- Pro Vice-Chancellor Education: Professor Jenny Marie

Members appointed by the Vice-Chancellor (4)

- A Deputy Dean normally serving for one year in rotation: Professor Noel-Ann Bradshaw (Engineering and Science)
- An Associate Dean (Student Success) normally serving for one year in rotation: Dr Gary Brown (Business)
- An Associate Dean (Research and Knowledge Exchange) normally serving for one year in rotation: Professor Tracey Reynolds (Liberal Arts and Sciences)
- Staff member appointed by the Vice-Chancellor for their particular expertise: Dr Myrtle Emmanuel (Business, EDI Race Advisor) (three-year term ending 31.08.26).

Academic Staff Members (4)

 4 members appointed by the Vice-Chancellor from the academic staff (1 from each faculty), appointed for a three year term following a selection process: Dr Karen Brickman (Business) (three-year term ending 31.08.26); Dr David Hockham (Liberal Arts and Sciences) (three-year term ending 31.08.26); Dr Mary Clare Martin (Education, Health and Human Sciences) (three-year term ending 31.08.26); and Dr Catherine Tonry (Engineering and Science) (three-year term ending 31.08.27).

Elected Student Members (4)

- President of Greenwich Students' Union: Mr Ameen Chowdhury
- 3 other elected sabbatical officers from Greenwich Students' Union: Mr Aminul Fahad, Mr Sodiq Lawal, Ms Amrutha Gullapalli